Egg Drop Soup gluten free, dairy free

Egg Drop Soup

A few nights ago around dinner time, the inner struggle began. Yes, you know the one…”what can I make that is warm, good, simple, easy yet delicious and FAST?” My tummy wanted a good but not heavy dinner and yet it wanted to be filled.

“Maybe a soup,” says the ex-chef.

“Sure, but I have nothing out or prepared for a soup darlin’ ” says I.

“oh.” Says the ex-chef as he walks away. Gosh, how I love him. 😉

After debating for a while and wasting even more time thinking and drawing a complete blank. A taste came to mind. Mmmmm egg drop soup.

Mind you this is something I have never attempted on my own before, so I was excited. But, if it flopped…what would be the backup plan for dinner? I had no time to waste and promptly popped 6 cups of water onto the stove to boil.

This is so yummy, simple and yet elegant all at the same time. I hope that you will give it a try. There are a lot of optionals in the soup so you can experiment to find what makes you happy 🙂

egg drop soup2!

Egg Drop Soup

6 cups of water flavored with gluten free bullion or 6 cups chicken stock (broth)

1/2 teas. finely minced garlic (optional)

2 Green Onions – round sliced with stems or minced if you desire (optional)

1 Tablespoon Braggs Liquid Amino’s (naturally gluten free) or soy sauce

1/2 teas. grated ginger (optional)

1 teas. sesame oil (optional)

1-2 Tablespoons Cornstarch

1 egg slightly beaten, but not foamy or bubbly

pinch of brown sugar

Bring chicken broth, garlic, ginger and onion to a boil. I let mine boil a good 5 minutes. Then turn down to simmer and add liquid aminos/soy sauce, sesame oil until fairly well incorporated.  Add the pinch and only a pinch of brown sugar. Taste. Season if need be. I dont add pepper, but leave it to the diner.

Thicken the soup by taking your cornstarch and adding water to make a thick slurry. Pour gently into soup while whisking to avoid lumps. Thinner than a gravy and just slightly to cover the spoon when dipped in. Let simmer while you prepare your egg.

Slightly beat egg until mixed well, but not bubbly or foamy. When finished, turn off the heat and slowly stir the pot in a clockwise direction …very slowly. Then pour your egg mix through the tines of a fork into the soup so that it feathers or shreds and does not clump.

After egg has been added. Let sit a few moments and serve.

Bon Apetit!

You can find this recipe and more at Healthyfishies

One thought on “Egg Drop Soup gluten free, dairy free

  1. Very interesting blog post thank you for writing it I have added your website to my favorites and will be back 🙂 By the way this is off subject but I really like your sites layout.

Leave a comment