herbed bread with dipping sauce – gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, casein free

This week I thought it would be fun to post about some of the recipes I have made and loved from my favorite blogs . This week I swam around the Gluten Free Cooking School – A LOT! Mary Frances is very wonderful about blogging not only Gluten Free, but Casein (dairy) free as well. She also has some amazing comparison stories and techniques as well. So, check out her blog sometime, you will NOT regret it!

Today’s recipe is Herb Sandwich Bread with Dipping Sauce! This is deliciously gluten free, dairy free, casein free, soy free and very easily egg free!

I used Mary Frances’ “Yummy Sandwich Bread” Recipe or this one Finally a really good sandwich bread (she has a great non bean flour mix ) and added a few teaspoons of our favorite herbs. For this loaf, I tossed them in at the last minute -but looking back, I think next time I would add them into the egg, oil, vinegar mix and let it sit for a few moments.

The herbs we used were: (please feel free to mix and match your own herbs to suit your tastes)

Oregano
Basil
Rosemary

– I thought these would be yummy as well –

garlic
parsley
thyme
sage
chives

After baking this lovely loaf of perfect sandwich bread (mind you, it is a little short – but so am I, so it is perfect) I thought it would be absolutely deelish – baked and garnished. So began the dipping sauce…

First–after the bread is cooled–slice into nice slices and brush both sides with olive oil and place on baking sheet. Bake 350 for 15-20 minutes until warmed and toasty while you mix up your tomatoes.

1 lovely tomato diced
1 tomato squished – or use 1/2-1c. sauce depending on whether you really “dip” or just “top” your bread.
1 clove garlic – i love garlic, you may wish to use less
1/4 onion diced
dash of oregano

After toasting your bread, dip or top and ENJOY!!

I also made this bread herbed and toasty with balsamic vinegar and olive oil as a dipping sauce — it was also deeelish!

Another tasty tidbit about this bread is that when it is herbed and toasted it makes a wonderful little quick pizza :-) It was topped with pizza sauce, pepperoni and dairy free cheese- and I was just like the kids with their english muffin pizzas -LOL!

Thanks Mary Frances!!

One Response

  1. Dear Mary Frances:

    I would be very interested in the brand of dairy free cheese you used, if it has no soy or cassein. I am extremely allergic to both, and I feel bad that my family cannot enjoy the simple meals that most people can use.

    Thank you.

    Mary G.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

