tator tot hotdish casserole – Gluten free, dairy free, casein free, egg free, soy free

This week I thought it would be fun to post about some of the recipes I have made and loved from my favorite blogs . This week I swam around the Gluten Free Cooking School – A LOT! Mary Frances is very wonderful about blogging not only Gluten Free, but Casein (dairy) free as well. She also has some amazing comparison stories and techniques as well. So, check out her blog sometime, you will NOT regret it!

Yesterday we made herbed bread, today we are sharing a gluten free Tator Tot Hotdish!! Thanks Mary Frances for your innovative cooking. :-) My Family did not even notice the difference. My husband was actually very surprised when I scooped myself a serving right along with the rest of the family *blush* I have not had Tator Tot Hotdish for years and I must admit, it was deeelish!~

tator tot hotdish - gluten free!

(sorry I did not arrange my tots very nicely, but we were hungry -LOL)

Tator Tot Hotdish for everyone!

1 lb. happy locally raised grass fed ground beef

3 c. tator tots

1 Recipe from Mary Frances’ How To Make Cream Mushroom Soup

(I did use her tips on making this same recipe Dairy Free found HERE! )

1/2 diced onion

1 T. olive oil

(optional) 2 c greenbeans

First, I popped the Gluten Free Tator Tots in the oven for about 20 minutes until they were nicely done.

While they were baking, I began making the roux as Mary Frances described and I followed her directions for making the Dairy Free Mushroom soup. I did let the finished soup simmer and reduce to a thicker soup while I prepared the ground beef.

In a skillet, add 1 T. olive oil and the onions until nicely tender, then add your ground beef. Brown off until beef is no longer pink and drain.

In a casserole dish… place 1 layer tots, followed by ground beef, optional green beans, pour the soup over top and add one more layer of tots. I say green beans are optional as I like mine uncreamed on the side – heh.

Pop into 325 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

You can find more information at HEALTHYFISHIES

4 Responses

  1. Yea! I love it when people don’t realize something is gluten free. I’m eager to try your Tater Tot Hot Dish. My husband loves Tater Tots, but has somehow never had them in casserole form.

  2. I love it when people dont notice as well, Mary Frances. Your site has been such a blessing to me and my family! I am so happy you don’t mind me doing a whole week of your Yummies — they ROCK!!

  3. Hi! I have orderd from this place twice and am very pleased to share. They have great kosher organic and natural food products.
    Here is a link http://www.wholeandnatural.com
    Enjoy!!!
    p.s. I used a code try if it works for you bldc08

  4. Progresso now has out gluten free creamy mushroom soup! It’s not bad just bad hotdish with it, and it came out fairly good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

