Chicken or Not Soup and Biscuits – gluten free, dairy free, soy free, vegan, vegetarian, nut free, egg free, corn free

To continue on our week of indulging and experimenting with Mary Frances’ “Gluten Free Cooking School” Recipes. For today’s update, I indulged my bread craving monster upon some real beauties! I absolutely loved buttermilk baking powder drop biscuits in my previous life. Oh for the love of tender flaky goodness smothered in butter *swoon*.

But wait, what do my eyes see before me ? Could it be? Oh my heart be still…My long lost love staring back at me! Beckoning me to come closer, to take that step, to “taste and see” that they indeed were good. My thoughts quickly raced to remember the feel of these tender morsels, the texture, they way they would soak up the butter or sauces. The way the top baked to a pefect crust while the inside was tender and moist. Mmmm, I remembered fondly the days of biscuits and gravy! Oh MYlanta! I just have to have them! My heart began to pitter pat as I scanned the words before me. “yes! yes! yes!” I exclaimed, “I can make these!” And so began my love affair with Mary Frances Biscuits. Mary Frances has two recipes Love, for these beautiful biscuits One contains soy flour and the other does not and these are the Light and Fluffy Variety. :D TASTE AND SEE BELOVED, THESE ARE GOOD!

GF baking powder biscuits 001!

Chicken or not Soup

I laugh at this recipe because it is so flexible I wonder how anyone can even call it a recipe.

6 cups broth (vegetable for the vegetarians, chicken for the rest of you, beef might do fine as well)

2 cloves garlic diced – or garlic powder for those who are out of fresh

1 medium onion diced – or again powder works

salt and pepper to taste–  I use sea salt and fresh ground, but whatever works for you is awesome.

Add in any of the optionals listed below.

Toss in a 1/2 cup of brown rice and simmer for about an hour or until the rice is to the doneness you prefer … stir every so often, add water if necessary.

Serve hot with Mary Frances Biscuits!

ALL the items listed below are completely optional

1c. diced chicken or turkey or whatever you have

2 nice carrots – cut into slices or diced

2 stalks celery

bay leaf

parsley

rosemary

red pepper – or red pepper flakes

green pepper

snap peas

peas

green beans

corn

any frozen bags of veggies

okra- smoosh after a bit

any kind of tomatoes

any ready to go beans- presoaked or canned, frozen

lentils

split peas

Thank you once again Mary Frances!!
You can find more at <a href=http://www.healthyfishies.com

3 Responses

  1. if you love those, you’ve got to try my new Light and Fluffy Biscuit recipe….I swear it could have come from Hardees. And I made it this weekend with flax eggs instead of chicken eggs, and it was still marvelous.

  2. Really? I am on my way darlin’ :)
    Hurry and post it for me!!!

    Yummmmmmmmy~ I found them!!
    Light and Fluffy Biscuits

  3. [...] unknown

    To continue on our week of indulging and experimenting with Mary Frances’ “Gluten Free Cooking School” Recipes. For today’s update, I indulged my bread craving monster upon some real beauties! I absolutely loved buttermilk baking powder …[...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

