Vegetable Gumbo with or without Chicken ;)

Mmmmm, Mmmmm, Mmmmmm Good!

The latest recipe I made from Mary Frances’ Gluten Free Cooking School was a hit with the entire family! This Yummy soup is full of tasty veggies and was absolutely dee-lish…best part, not too spicy.

I found this little tidbit HERE and quickly fell in love with it’s simplicity and adaptability ~ one of us doesn’t like diced tomatoes so I simply substituted the diced tomatoes with Tomato puree and it was a SMASH! I must also admit that I only made a 1/2 of Mary Frances’ recipe, next time (and there will be a next time) I will make a full batch and freeze as she recommends — yes, we like it THAT well!

Here is what I made from Mary Frances’ recipe:

1 med onion diced

2 cloves garlic chopped

Sauteed in 2 T. olive oil

32 oz Swanson Organic Vegetable Broth

8 oz frozen Okra

16 oz frozen mix veggies – I used a handful frozen green beans and 2 handfuls frozen peas/carrots mix.

leftover chicken from 2 nights before diced = about 2 split chicken breast

1/2 ~ 28oz can of Full Circle Organic Tomato Puree

1/4 teas thyme

couple pinches dried sage

salt and pepper added at the table

Mmmm Mmmmm goodness!!

You can find this recipe and more at Healthyfishies.com

5 Responses

  1. Crab Soup

    Ingredients:
    2 litres of fish stock,
    2 medium-sized crabs,
    100 gram ginger,
    50 gram scallions,
    50 gram Indonesian parsley,
    salt,
    pepper to taste.

    Direction:
    * Make fish stock by boiling fish bones in 8 cups of water
    * Remove these bones after a few minutes.
    * Wash crabs, split into several parts
    * Cut ginger into very thin slices
    * Cut scallions and Indonesian parsley
    * Reheat stock for about 5 minutes, put everything into the stock
    * Add salt and pepper to taste

    by : http://www.indo.com/restaurants/recipe.html#crabsoup

    coment by http://likeindonesianfood.blogspot.com

  2. wow…this looks cool…tanx

  3. i like this recipe. Thank You!

  4. I sympathize with a policy for your food. And I support your site. If there is time, please come in my site. From Japan http://food-soybean.blogspot.com/

  5. I alredy tour your site , It is very nice and useful for all person . Would you like to reciprocal link with me ??
    Please contact with me by mail
    and I will immediately to get your URL on my web ,.
    Best Regards
    Easycookingrecipe.net Team
    http://www.easycookingrecipe.net

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

