Gluten Free/Dairy Free Pancakes with Apples – egg free, vegan

I have not had a decent pancake for some time…. today, that has changed!

Halleluia!

By adding some pan sauteed apples w/brown sugar there was absolutely no need for syrup!

GF pancakes with apples

(strange thing.. the sauce turned the cakes a dark brown under the apples, so on the pic they look burnt or something, but trust me love…they weren’t, they were YUMMY!!)

Pancakes and Apples

In a small saucepan, dollop a cute Tablespoon of butter*, margarine or vegetable oil. Heat until melted. Slice 2 medium apples into 1/4″ slices or so. I dont peel my apples, but of course you can if you desire. I used Braeburn apples. Add a generous amount of Brown sugar, I used about a 1/4 cup packed brown sugar. Add a dash or 1/8 teaspoon of sea salt and sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/8 nutmeg. Allow this to simmer while we mix and make our pancakes. You will know they are done when they are soft and melty good. Feel free to toss in some pecans or walnuts toward the end.

The Cakes

1 cup Buckwheat Flour (yes, buckwheat is not wheat darling)

1 tsp. Baking Powder

2 Tbsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg beaten – or the equivalent of egg substitute works well too)

1 cup milk – I used soy milk, I am sure rice milk would work great too- use whatever you prefer and whatever loves you back. You can use buttermilk as well–simply add 1 teaspoon baking soda to the dry ingredients.

2 Tbsp. melted butter, margarine or vegetable oil

Grease skillet lightly with oil. Preheat skillet to about 375 degrees.

Mix together all dry ingredients. Add egg*, Milk* and butter* beating well between each additional item. Pour approximately 1/4 cup batter onto the griddle/skillet. Cook 1 to 1- 1/2 minutes- basically turn the cakes when the edges look cooked and the bubbles begin to break on the surface. Cook another 1 minute or until golden brown.

These cakes also freeze well. πŸ™‚ I make them toaster size and take them out and pop em in the toaster to warm.

When your cakes are done. Top with Apple and Enjoy!

I used the sauce as my syrup and didnt miss the Maple at all.

7 thoughts on “Gluten Free/Dairy Free Pancakes with Apples – egg free, vegan

  1. just started gluten free, already vegan. i’m not too familiar with buckwheat. so far i’m undecided. is the grain gritty? i used raw sugar but that usually doesn’t make baking gritty. it almost reminds me of cement in the back of my throat. the smell is different while on the skillet. i will venture more with buckwheat i suppose. also, instead of the egg, a ripe smashed banana gives a great taste. hides the buckwheat a little bit.

  2. Thanks for your feedback Jami. I didn’t think it was gritty, but more of a whole wheat texture… of course, everyones tastes are different. I enjoy buckwheat quite a bit in baking to add more of a “darker” flavor. Great idea with adding the mashed banana! Will have to try that πŸ™‚
    I have also made this recipe with buckwheat and sorghum flour, which gives it a bit lighter texture, too.

  3. My daughter (age 7) was recently diagnosed with a dairy, wheat, gluten, corn and vinegar allergy. I made these pancakes with the banana instead of the egg and I folded fresh blueberries into the batter. They were surprisingly smooth and I only smelled the yummy smell of baking pancakes. My daughter thought that they were delicious and even told me “those were the best you have ever made!” I skipped the apple topping, although it does sound yummy, and instead used pure maple syrup. They were really great. I’ll definitely be making these again soon! Thanks for sharing and helping me bring something familiar back into her food choices!

    1. Hi Christy!
      I am so glad they worked for your daughter! It always makes me smile when I can find a gluten free alternative to a “normal” recipe. Great idea with the blueberries… I have not tried that yet, funny thing, as I used to LOVE blueberry pancakes. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Hi,
    Thank you so much for this recipe.
    I was able to make a few adjustments,
    and can happily tell you that I have indeed,
    found a successful pancake recipe for my dietary needs!

    No more ethipean bread – meets – clay or rock-like pancakes ;)!!!

    I replaced milk with hempmilk (and have even found out a way to use a certain oil and water comb if out of that) Almond milk or hempmilk work wonders, for those who cannot/do not do dairy milk or soy milk. I also replaced the melted butter with olive oil. I suppose I could have also used that wonderful organic coconut oil. And lastly, because I cannot do sugar right now (even fruit sugar, right now) I replaced the sugar need, with wonderful Stevia. (Sweet Leaf brand is highly recommended. Other brands add things that can be problematic for many’s dietary needs as well. So stay with the powder, if you cannot have it fresh from the leaf by growing it yourself. Im workign on that. . . ) I am delighted to find a fluffy, and tasty deliciousness that is safe for me to eat!

    Thanks so, so much,
    Namaste,
    Eireann

  5. Worked out well with flax eggs, rice milk, 1/2 the amount of sugar in the form of agave nectar, olive oil, sliced apples, cinnamon, ginger, and clove. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

