Turkey Soup – in the crockpot

Thanksgiving has not even been cooked and eaten, but I am already recieving plenty of emails regarding the leftover bird….

Well, I LOVE leftover turkey, so I have a few recipes I will be sharing here over the next few days. I hope you find one that will tickle your taste buds. 🙂

Turkey Soup- in the crockpot

This soup is great for working families… it cooks while you are away and makes the house smell delicious. Who doesn’t like to come home to a pot full of homemade soup ?! It also freezes well.

4 cups turkey or chicken broth OR 6 cups if omitting tomatoes

2 to 4 slices cooked bacon** Optional

diced 2 cans diced tomatoes, undrained (14.5 ounces each) ** Optional

1/2 cup diced carrots

1/2 cup sliced or diced celery

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup rice – I tend to prefer brown rice in this, but white works great too

1/2 tsp. sea salt or less if using purchased broth

1/2 cup frozen corn kernels** Optional

1 to 2 cups diced cooked turkey

In a crock pot or slow cooker (I have a 6qt), combine turkey broth with Optionals plus carrots, celery, onion, rice, and salt. Cover and cook on low for 6 to 7 hours; or start on high for an hour and cook on low for 4-5 hours. Add optional corn kernels and turkey; cover and cook an additional 45 minutes to 1 hour.

YUM YUM!

One thought on “Turkey Soup – in the crockpot

  1. Your site is pretty interesting to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of website managers are guilty of these five errors”. http://tinyurl.com/blwxft4 You will be suprised how easy they are to fix.

Leave a Reply

